swimming octopus County Watch Logs swimming octopus

Here is where we'll be documenting our field research into the goings-on of Las Piedras, from visiting the anomaly hot spots of Doran's Peak and Serpent's Cove, to keeping an eye on the machinations of AAH! Should be updating a bit more regularly now that Covid isn't as big of a thing here.


* October 21, 2023

Tides have been going buckwild again. I don't know if it's the absurd amount of rain we got this spring or what, but she seems to be quite the tempermental lass lately. So of course, I had to see it for myself.

Those little glowy blue plankton were out tonight. I'm not gonna lie, sometimes I visit Serpent's Cove just because seeing them reflect off the green sand is breathtakingly beautiful. Gotta find the little things in life, right?

The scenery wasn't quite as picturesque on this night, though. Everything was calm for a little while, but then the waves started crashing into the rocks like they owed them money. Pretty quickly all the little blue things scattered, burrowing into the sand for shelter. Part of me was a little envious of them, because at the same time, the wind picked up. For a moment, I thought the tree I was sitting by was gonna topple from the force.

But if all I saw was some intimidating weather, I wouldn't be writing this. Here's where things got good.

So because I was getting nervous about that tree falling on me, I headed over to the boardwalk where they used to do the Arts Festival. By that time the wind started to die down, and I was feeling a bit silly, so I was considering going back. Then, I noticed something on the support beams.

Purple. Black. Spiky. Holy shit.

I had to contain my excitement as I approached the edge of the walkway. Didn't want to make a sudden movement and startle it in the event that it could move quickly. I've been wanting to get a better look at one of these for years. The slow approach worked, because at long last, I could really see it.

Best way I can describe it is like if a crown of thorns star and a basket star had radioactive baby. The black base and colored spikes, as well as sheer volume of spikes, were giving crown of thorns. But it was pretty skinny, and all tangled and curled against the support beam. Unlike either of those animals, the tips of the spikes were this near-searing neon purple. It practically glowed in the darkness, despite there not being any bio-luminescense.

Now remember what I said about wondering if it could move fast? Well, I wouldn't call it fast fast, but definitely faster than most sea stars. Kind of reminded me of how a snake moves, like a ball python or something. If I didn't know what I know about sea stars (thanks Sea Sights) I'd almost think the thing had some muscle to it.

Either I or Penny will head out tomorrow to see if any ensnared carcasses wash up to the shore. If either of us see anything interesting, we'll be sure to update as soon as possible.

- Ashton

* September 18, 2023



back